Teaching English Abroad

Good afternoon travelers! Have any of you taught english abroad? What countries have you worked in? What was it like? I’m very interested in participating in an opportunity of this nature and need some real information, not just some website that could or could not be a scam. I’m looking for people that have been through the TEFL course and interview process and have already taught abroad or are teaching abroad now. Is that you? Do you have any advice or suggestions?

I’m curious about the cost of the TEFL course, what countries are the best, and where you found the jobs that ultimately hired you. Also, how much money did you leave your home country with and how much did you return with? What kinds of things did you learn?

2 thoughts on “Teaching English Abroad

  1. Hi there! I’m a certified EFL teacher and so far have worked in England, Spain and Ecuador (where I’m currently based). First and foremost, welcome to TEFL!
    Secondly, if you’re in this for the long haul, then I’d definitely recommend you do either the CELTA or the Trinity CertTESOL. These are the only two TEFL qualifications that are universally recognised by the most reputable employers across the globe (like the British Council, for example). They’re pricey, but worth it; you can definitely get hired with other qualifications or even none at all, but you’d be severely limiting your options from the get-go in my opinion.
    I did my CELTA at International House (IH) London, who hired me the week after I finished. The school I’m working at now is their sister school in Ecuador, and I found the job on the IH website. The job I had before that was offered to me by a lovely lady I did my teacher training with. (TEFL is a highly inbred industry and seems to run on word-of-mouth a lot of the time.)
    If you have any more questions, please feel free to get in touch! There’s also some stuff you may find interesting about TEFL and moving abroad on my blog (260º West – linked through my profile).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

