Favorite Women In History

Women have been making a bang throughout the ages, but these five ladies have been inspiring me since I was a young child. They have helped shape my beliefs and outlook on life and the world around me. Helped me grow confidence despite of the trials and tribulations that have come my way.

Anne Frank (1929-1945)

Anne Frank

            Whenever I am feeling stressed, down and out I perform a monologue from Anne Frank in the mirror and do my best to channel her spirit through me. No matter what she faced, she consistently believed in the good in people and the world. If that is not inspiring I don’t know what is. I played her in the play once so I have the book, whenever I get to the part where she is talking to Peter about the sky and how beautiful it is I realize that life isn’t so bad anymore. The world really does go through phases with different people suffering at all times, but the suffering is what builds us into stronger people.

Amelia Earhart (1897-1937)

amelia-earhart

                Talk about moxie! Amelia Earhart exemplifies moxie better than anyone I know. She fell in love with flying and refused to give up until her dreams came true. She wanted to complete a feat that was not just good for a woman but for a man as well. She wanted to be an equal, she wanted to make a difference, but most importantly she stayed true to herself. Although she disappeared, she was doing something she loved with every fiber in her being. To me, there is some poetic justice to that. Imagine the strides she would have taken if she had completed her journey.

Helen Keller (1880-1968)

Helen-Keller

                   When I was about seven years old I was diagnosed with partial hearing loss. I had to wear hearing aids and go to speech classes. I felt less than the rest of the people around me. My mom took me to a small white theater that was doing a performance of Helen Keller and I watched her struggle to communicate in her childhood and then transcend above the hand dealt to her. She became an author and an activist despite being blind and deaf. She was amazing once given the proper tools to succeed – communication.

Zelda Fitzgerald (1900-1948)

zelda-scott-fitzgerald

                     Zelda, Zelda, Zelda. Oh Zelda how I wish I could really know what was going on in your head. You were up, you were down, you were here, you were there. Always running from one thing to the next. I admire her ability to speak so frankly no matter who was around. Not to mention she got to live with F. Scott Fitzgerald and experience his greatness. I’ll admit he is in my top five authors. Zelda held great confusion and passion within her, always jumping from one thing to the next – never bored. She was a very interesting woman interested in many things and became an icon of an entire generation.

Audrey Hepburn (1929-1993)

audrey_hepburn_1

               Audrey Hepburn was such an amazing actress, her films are still some of my favorites today. To me she is the essence of feminine beauty, class, and subtle strength. She was also a humanitarian, serving the dutch resistance during WWII and later in life spending more time working with UNICEF than making films. She was another one that stayed true to herself and became an icon in the film industry.


Leave a Reply

